Topic profile of the Vienna University of Technology Pilot Factory 4.0

The Vienna University of Technology Pilot Factory 4.0 as a demonstration plant for Smart Production and Cyber-Physical Production Systems deals in focus with new concepts and solutions for Variant Serial Production (low volume – high mix) in the discrete manufacturing industry, which is typical of many Austrian companies. This essentially comprises the following areas or fields of application:

  • Machining in robotic flexible manufacturing cells
  • Robotic laser processing for joining / cutting and additive / hybrid manufacturing
  • In-house logistics with a focus on lean methods and autonomous handling systems
  • Lean assembly and worker assistance systems for assembly processes

A particular focus of the TU Wien Pilotfabrik Industrie 4.0 is to implement IT solutions for the integrated support of the mapped processes and for the information technology integration of the various systems and to further develop them in the sense of alternative solutions that are required for adaptability and flexibility. Such IT solutions form the backbone for implementing Smart Production and Cyber-Physical Production Systems. In particular, the following topics should be addressed:

  • Internet of Things Technologies and Solutions for Flexible Automation
  • Solutions for vertical integration along the automation pyramid (“from shop floor to top floor”)
  • Solutions for horizontal integration along the value chain (manufacturing, internal logistics, assembly) across the different production stages
  • Life Cycle Integration from product development through production preparation to production with continuous mapping of real systems through a so-called digital twin

The sample product manufactured at the Vienna University of Technology Pilot Factory 4.0 is a plastic 3D printer that will be available in several variants. On the one hand, mechanical components are manufactured for this example product, but on the other hand, parts and components are also purchased in order to also be able to map complete assembly and in-house logistics processes. Of course, other components and components, e.g. be manufactured or assembled in cooperation with industrial partners. The main objective is to exemplify variability and adaptability in production.

Themenprofil der TU Wien Pilotfabrik Industrie 4.0

Die TU Wien Pilotfabrik Industrie 4.0 als Demonstrationsfabrik für Smart Production und Cyber-Physische Produktionssysteme befasst sich im Schwerpunkt mit neuen Konzepten und Lösungen für variantenreiche Serienproduktion (Low Volume – High Mix) im Bereich der diskreten Fertigungsindustrie, die typisch für viele österreichische Unternehmen ist. Dies umfasst im Wesentlichen folgende Bereiche bzw. Anwendungsfelder:

  • Spanabhebenden Bearbeitungsverfahren in robotergestützten flexiblen Fertigungszellen
  • Robotergestützten Laserbearbeitungsverfahren zum Fügen/Trennen und für Additive/Hybride Fertigung
  • Innerbetriebliche Logistik mit Fokus auf Lean Methoden und autonomen Handhabungssystemen
  • Lean Montage und Werker-Assistenzsysteme für Montageprozesse

Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt der TU Wien Pilotfabrik Industrie 4.0 liegt darin, IT-Lösungen für die durchgängige Unterstützung der abgebildeten Prozesse und für die informationstechnische Integration der verschiedenen Systeme zu implementieren und im Sinne alternativer Lösungsansätze, die für Adaptivität und Flexibilität erforderlich sind, weiter zu entwickeln. Solche IT-Lösungen bilden das Rückgrat, um Smart Production und Cyber-Physische Produktionssysteme umsetzen zu können. Im Besonderen sollen folgende Themenfelder adressiert werden:

  • Internet of Things Technologien und Lösungen für flexible Automatisierung
  • Lösungen für die vertikale Integration entlang der Automatisierungspyramide („from shop floor to top floor“)
  • Lösungen für die horizontale Integration entlang der Wertschöpfungskette (Fertigung, Innerbetriebliche Logistik, Montage) über die verschiedenen Produktionsstufen
  • Life Cycle Integration von der Produktentwicklung über die Produktionsvorbereitung bis hin zur Produktion mit durchgängiger Abbildung der realen Systeme durch einen so genannten digitalen Zwilling

Das in der TU Wien Pilotfabrik Industrie 4.0 gefertigte Beispielprodukt ist ein Kunststoff 3D-Drucker, der in mehreren Varianten zur Verfügung stehen wird. Für dieses Beispielprodukt werden einerseits mechanische Komponenten gefertigt, andererseits aber auch Teile und Komponenten zugekauft, um ebenfalls komplette Montage- und innerbetriebliche Logistikprozesse abbilden zu können. Neben diesem Beispielprodukt können selbstverständlich auch andere Bauteile und Komponenten z.B. im Rahmen von Kooperationen mit Industriepartnern gefertigt oder montiert werden. Hauptzielsetzung ist es, Variabilität und Adaptierbarkeit in der Produktion exemplarisch abzubilden.